top of page

What is like to work at Havenly

My dad would describe my job as innovative and contemporary. We (my dad and I) are architects. Well, I´m an interior architect and he is an engineer-architect, while my sister and her husband are architects... the normal ones. Generation by generation we see changes in how we do things, how we studied, how we worked and how we develop, but between with my generation and my Dad´s the change is amazing! He likes to show off how I work at Havenly, because it is super different on how he and my sister develop their careers.

My workspace

Who would not love to work from their home, in their pj's all day, owning your time and choosing how much would you like to work on a week? Well, I do! haha, I used to work at an engineers firm and I was an office girl, but as a great millennial I was constantly thinking that my office should turn into a BuzzFeed space and the world should be better, but I didn´t think further. Once I applied to Havenly all my world started to change.

On a normal week, I would update my capacity each Monday, to know how many clients I would like to take a week. When I was starting I only took 1 per week because I really want to focus on my client and their needs, and I was getting familiar with all our vendors. Now, a couple of years later, I take more client per week but without losing control of quality with each of them. I also chose when I want to take my clients and from there the magic begins.

Once I´m assigned to a client, I review all their profile information (yes! each client has one for each room they want to work with and they specify their likes and dislikes, inspirational images, dimensions of the space and much more!) and I start working on 3 initial ideas to see if we are moving in the right path with their design. They can rate their ideas and provide as much feedback as they want, like for example: "I love how modern this idea looks vs the traditional vibe of the 3rd board" "I love this particular chair but with the elements of the other two ideas"... that way I can blend all their requirements, budget, likes and dislikes and feedback on my designer brain and come up with a formal concept.

Initial Ideas by Yoseika Castillo

On the formal concept, they will see all the items they requested together. I really like this step because the boards have more shape and style. I love to add some personal touches to each board so my clients can identify with their spaces a bit better. With each step, my clients have the opportunity to see each product that I use and they are able to rate them as well and leave comments, that way I can pinpoint a bit better the items they might like or would like to stay away from. They can also see the description of each item like the size, materials and even unique aspects they might have, but what I love the most about it is that they can start purchasing right away if they want to. Instead of making a new account on 10 different vendors, they do a single check out where our lovely team will do the heavy lifting for them and will take care of any returns if needed -plus did I mention we respect any price or sale the vendor is having? -I know, mind blow!!

Concept by Yoseika Castillo

Back to my Dad, yes, he still can´t believe how this process is so fast and so convenient! If the client wants we can arrange a phone call, otherwise I don´t see them or talk to them, everything is via internet which is really cool- If the client purchased a MINI package the process ends with a revision if needed but I will be there around always for them in case they need something else, but if the client purchased a Full package then we will be moving with the renderings! My favorite part! The renders help the client visualize how everything will look on their space in an easy way for us designers to make it happen with the images we have from each vendor- as I always say: better change it on the computer than in real life, right? The turn around for each project is different, it really depends on how fast the client answers to every step but usually is about 1 week and they can buy everything in a single time or buy over time. I usually suggest to buy the big ticket items first and then the accents like lighting, rugs, window treatments, and pillows and leave the small decorative items or accents at the end, some of them might be replaced for something familiar or that you already have around to inject more personality to your space.

Render 1 by Yoseika Castillo

Render 2 by Yoseika Castillo

In terms of how I work, when I started working at Havenly, I was living with my parents so I only took my MacBook and work all day from bed in pj´s, but at some point I started to get bored so I decided to redecorate my room to accommodate a desk, chair, lamp, and a better computer, my dogs (3 Jack Russels are basically my coworkers) and after a few months I was bored as well so I decided to move out with my boyfriend and left my office at my parents house, that way in the morning I go to the gym, coexist with other humans haha socialize a bit more and then go to work my normal 8-10 hours and then go home- I think it is more healthy and my wrist and butt are thankful for the decision. If you are wondering about my dogs coworkers, they are always with me as well ;)

If you are interested in working with me, send me an email to yoseika.castillo@havenly.com and if you ask nicely I can give you 25% off a MINI or Full package at Havenly

bottom of page